Click It Or Ticket

The Colorado State Patrol is part of an ongoing national effort to make sure drivers and passengers buckle up and reduce traffic deaths and injuries on our highways.

 

The CSP knows that we can reduce serious injuries and fatalities if motorists would use their seat belts and make sure their passengers are buckled up.

 

In May 2004, the Click It or Ticket Campaign conducted resulted in increased seat belt use in Colorado from 77.7 percent to 79.3 percent.

 

While the goal of the campaign is voluntary compliance, those who continue to violate seat belt laws will risk getting a ticket. If drivers are stopped for another offense and they are not buckled up, they will get a ticket. The enforcement also targets drivers with unbuckled children in the vehicle. Those drivers can be stopped and ticketed without another violation.

 

Colorado's child passenger safety law is a primary enforcement action. This means a driver does not have to be stopped for another driving offense before they can be ticketed for a violation of the child passenger safety laws. They can be pulled over for this reason alone.

 

The child passenger safety law clearly defines child safety seat and seat belt use from birth through age 15 as follows:

 

  • The law requires infants to ride in a rear-facing child safety seat until they are at least one year old and weigh at least 20 pounds.

 

  • The law requires children ages one to four years old that weigh atleast 20 pounds up to 40 pounds to be restrained in a forward-facing or rear-facing child safety seat.

 

  • The law requires that children who weigh over 40 pounds or who are at least four years old be properly restrained in a child booster seat or with a child safety belt-positioning device. Children must ride in booster seats until they are eight years old.

 

  • A child who is at least eight years old must be properly restrained with a safety belt or child restraint system.

 For more information on Child Passenger Safety visit: www.CarSeatsColorado.com.

 

The seat belt law for adults requires the driver and front seat passengers to buckle up. The law is a secondary offense, meaning a driver must be stopped for another offense before receiving a ticket for a seat belt violation. The minimum fine is $65.

 

The national Click It or Ticket Mobilization is conducted by the Air Bag & Seat Belt Safety Campaign of the National Safety Council in conjunction with NHTSA, state highway safety offices, law enforcement agencies and the National Transportation Safety Board.